Why Using 108 beads?

Update: 29/08/2007
Buddha looks at the universe that is not materialist, not idealistic nor religious. Buddhism looks at three states combined together to form people are mental, physiologic and physical. By the word of Buddhism is the conditions of five aggregates, the four elements; or sense, objects of senses, and conscious.

Why Using 108 beads?


Sense is about physiology, object of senses is physical, and conscious is psychology. Sense, object of senses and conscious combine together to survive. If only with two items above, the world would not exist. As a result, what are they?

Sense: eyes, ears, nose, tongue, body and mind.
Objects of senses: color, sound, smell, taste, touch and legal.
Conscious: eye conscious, ear conscious, olfactory conscious, tongue-conscious, body-conscious and conscious.

Six senses contact six objects of senses to born six conscious. Conscious creates non-peaceful mind which good or evil karma to drift in the six reincarnations. Like the eyes see the beauty of a person (male or female), instant start passionately mind, from where passions that create karma, until ears hear sound, nose smells fragrant , body touch the soft and smooth spot, minh think hate, love, anger, revenge.

Six senses are tools to handle six conscious for creating good or bad karma. From the place of karma accumulated to carry away in six reincarnations and will continue in the future and to suffer in reincarnations.

Past due to non-peaceful six senses and runs according to infatuation to create karma: greed, anger, ignorance, pride, doubt and evil. In the future life, we ​​again go the old path of birth and death karma greed.

When eye see beauty creating six basic afflictions from greed, anger, ignorance, pride, doubt, evil to eyes, ears, nose, tongue, body and mind. Each sense creates six identical basic afflictions: greed, anger, ignorance, pride, doubt, evil. Each sense has six basic afflictions, so six senses create 36 afflictions in daily life.

Therefore, as mentioned above, our life continuously is in three successive away from the past to the present and the future. Thus, in three generations was made up of 108 things to do inventory afflictions of birth and death is not the forever road.

So, now we have 108 prayer beads while reciting Buddhist is determined to get rid of 108 afflictions that have created in three generations. Eliminating 108 afflictions means that make six senses purity.

Six senses before run under six objects of senses, to create six basic afflictions: greed, anger, ignorance… Now we recite the Buddha and pray beads that prevent six senses not run follow the objects of senses and allow six senses coming back to nature.

Six senses feel six objects of senses to create six conscious, then conscious affect our actions to create karma in samsara. Reciting the Buddha and praying beads is that we do not make senses affected by objects of senses, so our senses are pure and karma is not present and no samsara in life. It is called liberation, or reborn in the Pure World of Amitabha Buddha.

Understanding such dogmas makes us not discriminate that this practice is better than other practices. Also, we do not think whether Siddhartha Prince became Buddha by meditation or pray to become Buddha; or even worse and more wandering thoughts by stating that the monks advised us that during degenerate time, reciting the Buddha shirks and do not adapt to the Buddha's teachings.

Translated into English by Huynh Thi Khanh Phung

Related News

The realm of Practitioner
The Monk’s Eight Quibbles Laziness
Enlightened by Himself
Firmly Believing in the Good